Happy Father’s Day

In honor of all those hardworking, loving fathers out there, I’d like to say Happy Father’s Day!

If you’ve been following this blog, you’ll realize how important fathers are to our story.

There is the father who made the decision to molest is own teenage daughter, which set in motion a situation, the consequences of which are still being felt to this day.

There is the father who, after the divorce from the mother of his children, was alienated from those children by his former wife.

There are the grandfathers who went through life feeling that if they did anything to upset or anger the mother of their grandchildren, they would not be permitted to see those grandchildren.

You’ll recall our May 20th post, about the importance of fathers in the healthy development of children:

https://ltepas.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/the-importance-of-fathers-in-the-healthy-development-of-children/

With everything that has gone on, Father’s Day is obviously a bittersweet holiday for us. I mourn the loss of my father, who was the best father a girl could have ever wanted, or needed. I remember all the wonderful times with him and how very special he was. I also count my blessings, in marrying an incredible man, who I was so very lucky to meet and fall in love with. He became the father my sons never had and, to this day, sets an example for our son, showing him the way a father and grandfather should be.

So, we will count our blessings for the people who we do have in our lives, and enjoy the holiday by recognizing the man I love as The World’s Best Father and Grandfather!

“My father didn’t tell me how to live; he lived and let me watch him do it.” — Clarence Budington Kelland

Leave a Reply

